Returning to form…

I’m finally getting back into the swing of things after a week of vacation and some changes to my day-to-day life- very good ones, though with every kind of change we must make adjustments. Fellow St. Louisian David Craig blogged this morning about Change and I felt like putting down some thoughts of my own. Thanks, David, for inspiring me today, I needed a kickstart to get back in my groove.

Earlier this month I took a week off and flew on a plane, something I hadn’t done in maybe 10 years. I drove across (half) the country with my girlfriend and her dog. I invited her into my home which is now our home. Over the next six months or so we’ll be moving and melding our families even further. To say there are changes going on in my life would be somewhat an understatement, but they’re changes I wanted and changes that are improving my life.

I am still strongly feeling the desire to write and the enjoyment of blogging. I’ve had a lot of other things going on over the last couple weeks so I’ve not made time for posting or even much reading, but I will. I’m planning to give NaNoWriMo a serious go- it starts in 3 days- and continuing to share things here, participate in prompts, be a part of the online writing communities I’m involved with, and stay connected with all of my friends via the various social media outlets.

Change doesn’t ever have to mean giving up what you love if you’re open to it, flexible enough to work the changes into your life, and happy with the outcome. Sometimes we don’t get to say when and where changes occur, but I’ve been lucky enough to make these changes of my own accord. I have no plans to eliminate anything that I don’t want to leave behind. I have new people and responsibilities in my life I will embrace and champion. Hopefully the positive feelings and results I’m already experiencing will be reflected here.

 

4 thoughts on “Returning to form…

    • Thanks, Kath! Knowing you and the rest of the awesome people I’ve come to know through my blogging are out there is a big motivator for me to keep reading and writing 🙂

  1. Good for you. It’s sounds like you have a great attitude about it all and I bet you find a whole lot of things to write about. I happen to love change (of course, the good kind is better but…) Congrats on the whole ball of wax!

Leave a Reply

