Blogging 101: Start Personalizing

This Blogging 101 task is somewhat easier for me because I’ve had this blog for a while now. Most of the personalization is done already, but there’s always room for improvement.

Today’s assignment: create and upload a simple header, background, or both. Already done? Try a custom widget.

I did add a new custom widget, since I’d already had my header completed. I’m not so sure about the “mission statement” part of it though. It feels too vague, but then again I’m not sure who I am these days or what I ultimately want to do. Pretty scary for 41 with a family. That’s a post for another day.

I really like the theme I chose last week, but it doesn’t show the Sidebar where all the widgets, including my new one, are usually visible. I’m wrestling with the idea of finding another new one that will show the bar, but probably not today. What do you think? Do you like the uncluttered look or would you prefer to see the bar right away, with things like Twitter, badges, blogroll, etc?

Leave a Reply

