WWW Wednesdays 3-6-13

This weekly event from Should Be Reading gives us a chance to share what’s we’re reading and often find new treasures we might have otherwise missed. Join in the fun!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m still working on the same books I had open last weekVampires in the Lemon Grove, by Karen Russell and Dreamland: Adventures in the Strange Science of Sleep, by David K. Randall. I’ve also started Grimspace, by Ann Aguirre.

 In between continuing those titles I picked up and finished Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1) by Kevin Hearne. I have to say, I nearly put this one down before I was halfway through. I loathe being unable to finish a book, but I didn’t feel like this was very well written. The dialogue seemed a bit clunky, too forced at times. The characters though, are intriguing. I’m also a huge fan of mythology and it’s well represented here. The book is a pretty quick read, so I finished it and you know what? I’m going to give the next in the series a shot. Hearne has something here to build upon and I’m hoping I enjoy the other “Chronicles.”

 Kevin’s titular druid, Atticus, reminded me a lot of a character I’ve met before and really loved, which may be why I’m giving that series a chance. The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #1) by Michael Scott is one of my favorites, the first installment in one of my favorite series ever. If you’ve not found Scott’s books yet, I highly recommend them. I may read this again next.

 Hexed (The Iron Druid Chronicles #2) by Kevin Hearne will be coming up soon too.

 

 

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays 3-6-13

Leave a Reply

