WWW Wednesday, February 27, 2013

This is a weekly prompt, thanks to Should Be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently I’ve got two titles open:

 Vampires in the Lemon Grove, by Karen Russell. It’s a book of short stories, and while I’m not usually a fan of reading shorts this collection is very enjoyable so far. The vampires are far from the popular versions you might be familiar with today.

 

Dreamland: Adventures in the Strange Science of Sleep, by David K. Randall, is a non-fiction look into our heads and nocturnal tendencies. No, it’s not all what that might sound like, keep it clean people. Apparently, humans naturally tend more toward “segmented sleep” than the “solid 8 hours” we so often talk about missing. Intriguing stuff.

I recently finished reading:

 In Milton Lumky Territory, by Philip K. Dick. Dick is well-known and respected for his writing, which I’d say typically falls into the “sci-fi” category, though he wrote professionally for 30 years in multiple genres. To be honest, I only finished this out of respect for the author, wanting to give it a chance to wow me until the end, and while the characters were somewhat interesting, it was more like a train-wreck you can’t look away from than something I enjoyed. Maybe it was the 1950’s setting, but it was boring to me. Plenty of underlying themes to dig out if you’re a fan of Phillip K. Dick.

Next up in the queue:

 Grimspace, by Ann Aguirre. I’m going to give the Sirantha Jax series a try. I’ve never been a big sci-fi reader, but I love a good series, gives me more time with the characters. I heard about this one through my Goodreads friends.

 

 

One thought on “WWW Wednesday, February 27, 2013

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays 3-6-13 | Cautious Realism

Leave a Reply

