Cabbage and White Bean Soup with Sausage

Last night I made this delicious soup for dinner. It took roughly an 1:45 from prep to eating, not too bad as far as time, and it was very good if I do say so myself, well worth the minor effort.

Plenty of veggies, low sodium chicken stock, All-Natural chicken-apple sausage = good for you and easy. I used Aidells brand sausage, because that’s what the grocery store had, and it fit the soup perfectly. 

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 12 ounces fully cooked chicken-apple sausages (about 4), halved lengthwise, then cut crosswise into 1/2-inch-thick slices
  • 4 cups thinly sliced green cabbage (about 1/2 small head)
  • 3 leeks (white and pale green parts only), halved lengthwise, then thinly sliced crosswise (about 3 cups)
  • 2 cups baby carrots, cut in half lengthwise, then halved crosswise
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste concentrate (from tube)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 8 cups low-salt chicken broth
  • 1 15-ounce can cannellini (white kidney beans), rinsed, drained

I didn’t use baby carrots, but I don’t think they would add much specifically to the flavor. Use whatever carrots you have. I’d be interested to see how the soup turned out if I used Savoy cabbage or even bok choy. I think a large chopped tomato would go well in this.

Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add sausage slices and sauté until brown around edges, about 5 minutes. Add cabbage; sauté 2 minutes. Transfer to bowl. Add remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil to same pot and heat over medium heat. Add leeks and carrots and sauté until soft, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Add tomato paste, parsley, and rosemary and stir 1 minute. Add broth, sausage-cabbage mixture, and beans and bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer until vegetables are tender, about 40 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

I tasted throughout the cooking time, as any good chef would, and added salt & pepper very near the end, after everything had cooked together. The tomato paste gave the soup a reddish tint and I think there was a good balance of ingredients to broth. Hope you enjoy as much as my girlfriend and I did.

9 thoughts on “Cabbage and White Bean Soup with Sausage

  1. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a amazing job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Opera.
    Outstanding Blog!

  2. Hey! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics? Thanks a ton!

Leave a Reply

