1st Annual NHL Blogger Bet

Fellow bloggers and hockey fanatics, @According2Jewls and @TheSimpleDude, and I decided to make a wager on this abbreviated NHL season. If you’re a sports fan you might be familiar with the kind of bets you often see made by the mayors from cities with teams playing in championship games, like the World Series in baseball or the Super Bowl in football. If you’re not a sports fan, the bet usually goes like this: each mayor proposes a prize package of items (often food) unique to his/her city and whichever city’s team loses must then send the prize to the winning mayor.

It’s not a secret that I’m a big St. Louis Blues hockey fan, and as it turns out, Jewels is a lifelong Philadelphia Flyers fan. The Simple Dude, hailing from the frozen north (Minneapolis and thereabouts) brings the Minnesota Wild into the mix, and so we’ve agreed that of the three teams, whichever finishes this season with the best record will be declared Winner, and the other two bloggers will be Losers, and be required to send a prize to the winner. I’m not saying it has to be food, but I when I win I will take Philly Cheesesteaks and a Juicy Lucy. Thank you.

GO BLUES! Long Live the Note!

8 thoughts on “1st Annual NHL Blogger Bet

  1. what? my beloved RANGERS are no where in this bet??? The team that is quite simply going to win the Stanley Cup? *Just ask Boomer lol*

    All I can say is that I’m just happy that everyone is playing hockey again, my husband is smiling, content. YAY.

    • Now’s a bad time to complain to me, the Blues have lost three in a row and have been outscored 11-2 in their last two, and that’s at home! Too early to panic or throw in the towel though, plenty (never enough!) of hockey left

  2. We play at 1 and I’m just hoping we can get 2 points. Being a hockey fan is a frustrating thing at times but I still love it. Lets Go Flyers. 😀

    • No doubt, I’ll always love it, but after the fast start my Blues have fallen back down to Earth. Here’s hoping we’re all a bit more competitive as the season moves forward

  3. Pingback: I hate them, since you’re asking | Cautious Realism

  4. Pingback: 1st Annual NHL Blogger Bet Results are in! | Cautious Realism

Leave a Reply

