What are YOU reading?

Thanks to Should be Reading for the fun prompt. It’s always cool to see all the different kinds of things being consumed out there by readers!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 Currently reading In Milton Lumky Territory, by Philip K. Dick. Not very far in but it’s intriguing. Dick’s characters seem flat, but more alive than they should be, which is pulling me in but also disconcerting at the same time.

 Also reading Last Argument of Kings, by Joe Abercrombie, book three of his The First Law trilogy. This has proven to be a wonderful ride in a sort of “real-fantasy” setting. Rich characters and a complicated world as backdrop for multiple story lines. Highly recommend.

 And also reading Heir to the Empire, by Timothy Zahn. It was suggested as a jumping off point for someone getting a first taste of the Star Wars extended universe. Zahn has written a number of Star Wars novels.

 I just finished the second book of that trilogy, Before They Are Hanged. It was better than the first book (The Blade Itself) and each of the characters in it are endeared to you further and further as you read on. Good stuff.

 I also recently finished The Long Earth, by Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter. Really fun, had a bit of Pratchett’s Discworld feel, but different enough to stand alone as a fine piece of sci-fi-ish fiction.

 I *also* just finished Star Wars: Scoundrels, also by Timothy Zahn. I had picked it up and intended to read if after Heir but the draw of Han Solo and Lando Calrissian was too strong 😉 I enjoyed it, but honestly I’m more of a swords & dragons kind of geek than a sci-fi reader, despite my love of all things Star Wars.

The next thing I read (after finishing all of the above) may be Gun Machine, by Warren Ellis. With guns a hot topic these days this new novel stuck out enough for me to want to check it out. Gun is his second novel.

2 thoughts on “What are YOU reading?

  1. I’m thinking about reading Stephen King’s new short, “Gun,” myself! Can’t say I’ve heard of any of the others, although I’m of your same generation Star Wars geekdom (no offense, of course)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

