SURVIVE

This post touches on a very personal topic and was prompted by this week’s Word over at Trifecta

 

 

As this New Year begins I’m reminded of the fragility and randomness of life.

I was informed yesterday that my mother’s youngest sister has been diagnosed with Inflammatory Breast Cancer, one of the more rare and aggressive types. Definitely not happy news to start 2013, but knowing my family’s faith and spirit, I have no doubts in my aunt’s chances to overcome this terrible affliction.

When diagnosed, this type of cancer is in either Stage III or Stage IV, and most of what you can find online about it is bad. I’m told there are already plans for treatment, so that might mean it’s Stage III. More information on IBC can be obtained from the Inflammatory Breast Cancer Research Foundation.

I will be praying every day that she survive the chemotherapy, surgery, and radiation treatments to live her full life as daughter, sister, aunt, wife, mother, and grandmother, rather than be cut short by cancer. It’s true that cancer can effect anyone at any time, though it rarely makes it any easier to accept.

My niece has been through a double lung transplant and survived. My grandmother has had a new knee, eye trouble, heart issues, and has survived. My family is full of love and faith and strength and we’ll all be praying and thinking about my aunt every moment of every day this New Year, and I’m confident we’ll be able to add my aunt to this list of survivors.

I’ve been quiet over the last week or so, choosing to spend extra time with my loved ones though there have been plenty of times I thought about my blogging, new story ideas, issues and opinions. They’ll all come about in their time. This isn’t a happy return to my blog, but it will be a launching pad for support, love, and creativity this year. 2013 need not be destined for sadness, but it will certainly be a challenge for my aunt and my family to stand in the face of her cancer.

25 thoughts on “SURVIVE

  1. Sean, so sorry to hear the news. As I have learned first hand, what will be will be. Four years ago my mother was diagnosed with Stage III rectal cancer at the age of 78. She went through chemo/radiation/surgery. She was ready to come home from the hospital when she contracted Mersa and was in the hospital another 2 weeks. Three months later she underwent another full round of chemo. She is still here and thriving. My dad’s cancer diagnosis and outcome was not as good. So all we can do is hope, pray and accept each day and each challenge as it comes. Good luck to her and all of you…her team.

  2. Sean, words can’t express what you and your family must be going through right now. Although I don’t know you, please know that I pray for your aunt’s strength during this difficult time, and I also pray the Lord will strengthen you and the rest of your family, as you support her. I pray that the God of all comfort gives each one of you peace, and I also pray for a miracle healing. May the Lord bless you in Jesus’ name. Amen.

  3. I’m sorry about this news. Scary how the prompt fit in so well with what your family is going through. I hope she beats the odds and survives, like the other ‘fighters’ you described in your family.

  4. Am really sorry to read this-the dreaded disease is really haunting all of us-its becoming a norm rather than an exception!Will keep u & your family in my prayers & I sincerely hope that your aunt will be able to recover completely,with no remissions ever.Tc & God Bless

Leave a Reply

