Monday Eats – Pazzo’s Pizza

IMG_1445[1]

Pazzo’s Pizza has quickly become one of my favorite pizza joints in town. Another excellent product of the Del Pietro family, Pazzo’s pizza offerings are, in my opinion, traditional but gourmet at the same time. A super crispy, thin, but yet still hand-tossed crust serves as a base for a wide variety of tomato sauce pies, but their specialty seems to be olive oil based creations with toppings like goat cheese, artichokes, roasted apples, and shrimp. This is not your average pizza hut.

I’ve yet to be adventurous enough to try the olive oil or exotic (to me, for pizza) toppings, but the place always smells amazing. I’v eonly had carry out, but the place has a large, but yet cozy feeling dining room, with a full bar. The young ladies who greet you and take those carry-out orders are always friendly and quick to say hello, give you a menu, and take your order.

IMG_1449[1]My two favorites so far are the Sugo’s: tomato sauce, sausage, hamburger, bacon, pepperoni, and mozzarella, and the Dad: tomato sauce, sausage, pepperoni, bacon, green peppers, olives, and onions. The Mom swaps mushrooms in for the pepperoni and is also great.  You get plenty of toppings, though for my taste, there could be more cheese piled further out to the edges, but it doesn’t take away from the pizza at all. The crust is what’s really incredible about Pazzo’s pies. If you prefer a floppy, New York style, it’s not quite there, but here in St. Louis with so many people preferring the thin cracker crust, Pazzo’s has, in my opinion, hit the sweet spot right in the middle.

An almost famous in St. Louis, Del Pietro’s house salad is the perfect accompaniment, but the menu at Pazzo’s has plenty of other salads, pasta, and appetizers. I look forward to taking the time to visit and dine-in, try some of the other menu items, but I’m already sold on their pizza. Even if I never had anything else they offer it would be one of my favorite places to eat here in town.

Great job, Michael Del Pietro!

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Eats – Pazzo’s Pizza

    • Oh my gosh, Gina, me too! I could literally eat it every day. I think there’s 5-6 really good pizza places here, and that’s just in Kirkwood. St. Louis has tons.

Leave a Reply

