What’s your Chariot?

I was at the gym this morning on the elliptical trainer doing my hour of cardio and listening to iTunes shuffle. I know the gym has music playing but I like to listen to my own via ear buds and as a result I’m often in danger of dorking out. I know, you’re surprised, ME a dork? Anyway, haven’t we all had that moment somewhere in public that a great tune comes on and we suddenly want to burst into song, sing along at the top of our lungs? Is it just me? Oh, that’s embarrassing.

I don’t really believe that no one else ever experiences this. I don’t sing out loud, of course. Being at the gym and suddenly belting out lyrics would be quite inappropriate. It would be a funnier story I guess, but yeah, I resist. Gavin DeGraw’s “Chariot” was the one that tempted me. Something about this song makes me want to sing it. Even the words themselves beg a voice. Whenever I hear it I turn the volume up as loud as I can.

“You’ll be my vacation away from this place
You know what I want
Holding that cup,
It’s pouring over the sides
You make me wanna spread my arms and fly”

What’s your “Chariot?” What song do you crank up and always want to sing along with?

6 thoughts on “What’s your Chariot?

  1. are we talking guilty pleasure? – then it’s hungry like the wold – duran duran

    my other type, good song that I sing and embarrass myself with is mr. jones by counting crows or take me out – franz ferdinand

  2. I sing out loud to every single song out there. I can’t help it…it’s my thing. That being said Gavin is great. I’ve met him on several occasions and have seen him in concert multiple times (though not since he “made it”). The guys a gem. Sing away, my friend.

Leave a Reply

