Minecraft Musings

My 9 year old daughter is a Minecraft junkie. Do you know this game? It’s this crazy world building, sort of architecture, creation, maybe role playing type game and while I’ve been a gamer in my time, I honestly am clueless when it comes to Minecraft, yet my NINE year old daughter plays it for hours on end, her fingers flying across the keyboard, and she builds some crazy cool stuff. I’m always amazed and she loves showing it off to me when she’s done. Much of the time she’s online she’s chatting with friends from school who are also playing. One of her good friends has brothers who play and I believe her dad even set up a server so the kids could all play together. It’s wild.

If you’re familiar with Minecraft then you know how addictive it can be, and it’s not just playing the game. The characters and pixelated items and images from the game are everywhere now.  I’ve recently found some pretty cool gift ideas for my daughter that are Minecraft themed, many featured last week on Digital Mom Blog. I’m thinking Santa may get her a few stocking stuffers of the Minecraft variety this year. But even I think thy’re cool looking, and I can’t play the game to save my life, lol. Look, I used to play World of Warcraft for hours at a time, and this game totally escapes me, I’m not sure why.

Here’s a couple of cool things I’ve seen that even Dad might like to have, and would wear/wield/use proudly in support of my daughter’s habit:

Cool t-shirt and foam pickaxe

Creeper beer glass

Hoody

Those are just a few items, there’s thousands more out there. It’s a phenomenon. I guess. Maybe I’m just not cool anymore but oh well. I think she’d like the iPod Touch Creeper case, or maybe the Creeper face mouse pad. At any rate, I suppose as in to computers as I am, it’s kind of neat she’s an enthusiast too, although seeing the addiction from the outside, it IS a little scary sometimes, lol.

Do you or your kids play?

4 thoughts on “Minecraft Musings

  1. I have tried to play it a couple of times and I don’t get it. I either mange to build myself into a box and can’t get out or wander around until something else comes out to eat me. I need a 10 year old to give me a tutorial.
    I do like the hoody.

Leave a Reply

