100 Word Song – Landslide

This is my response to this past week’s 100 Word Song from Lance over at My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog. I was inspired more by the title of the song than perhaps the lyrics, likely the melancholy it prompted in me.
____
As this month of giving thanks slowly rolls to a halt (though these long holiday weekends are welcome) I feel an almost overwhelming sense of the days building up to try and drown and assault me with Christmas and then end of another year looming like the edge of a precipice. My own “fiscal cliff.” All the months and time and bills and yet-to-be-bought gifts come down on my mind, a veritable landslide of stress. The more tenuous graspings of my mind struggle for purchase, slipping and floundering, threatening to send me plummeting into a swirling abyss of seasonal depression.
____
4 thoughts on “100 Word Song – Landslide

Leave a Reply

