A Time For Thanks

Thinking about gratitude and being thankful (hopefully) comes naturally this time of year. Tomorrow is Thanksgiving in the US, a day we ostensibly gather with family and perhaps friends to celebrate how thankful we are for all the things we have, the people we know, etc. I guess that’s what it’s about, right? The pilgrims were going to die and the Native Americans showed up and saved them so the Pilgrims were thankful, right? Sorry, I saw part of the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving show tonight and frankly it was a little disturbing, but I’m not really here to talk about that right now.

I am very thankful right now, thinking about all that I have, despite the things I seem not to have. I’m healthy, I have a wonderful girlfriend in my life, I have a beautiful daughter, I have a roof over my head, a job… I’m grateful to have those things. I’m grateful to live in a country, despite its shortcomings when it comes to the way the government works, where I am allowed to have these things and wear what I want and talk to whom I choose, and believe in God (relatively) without fear of being persecuted or killed for my choices.

I’m sitting here listening to Bob Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited, and while the blues tumble from Bob’s fingers and tongue I find myself very happy. Thanksgiving has long been my favorite holiday primarily for the feasting, but I really am grateful for the chance to visit with family I don’t always get to see every day. I’ll have the opportunity to spend it with my girlfriend, and my daughter, and those facts make me smile. My dad is deep-frying the turkey tomorrow, and provided he’s not like the 15 people who apparently burned their homes down last year doing it (according to All State Insurance) it should be delicious. My dad is an awesome cook, that could be why I enjoy it, hard to say. My daughter might not eat much other than the pumpkin pie he made but you know what? That’s okay. I look forward to telling him how grateful I am to be a part of his Thanksgiving and for the meal.

I suppose it should be easy to be thankful during this time. I’m disappointed that as soon as dinner is over there will be people elbowing each other and stomping on toes to get super deals on material goods we can’t live without. After we waxed eloquently about how thankful we are for the things we already have. It’s unsettling, sort of like the Charlie Brown special tonight, but it’s the way of the world. I’m grateful I wont be standing in any lines tomorrow night or Friday morning. 

Finally, I’d like to express my gratitude for the Write on Edge online community for this very timely writing prompt. Happy Thanksgiving all!

Leave a Reply

