American Music Travesty

I’ve been watching the American Music Awards 40th Anniversary tonight, and after 45 minutes I’ve come to the conclusion that the American people have zero taste in music. My friends out there who know music will have to help me out here, maybe I’m just missing something. After seeing Justin Bieber win Best Male singer, listening to Carly Rae Jepsen sing a less than catchy tune, hearing some crap band called The Wanted bellow out some awful song, and suffering through a live performance by Kesha, I’ve lost all hope. Especially knowing that Nicki Minaj will also be performing. Is that really what passes for music these days? C’mon, America, you’re killing me.

I’d like to suggest, in place of watching any more of the noise ABC is passing off as music tonight, the following video. She’s been around a while, but I’ve just discovered Jenny Lewis and her album, Acid Tongue. This, my friends, is music, and I’m only sorry I haven’t listened to her sooner, or more often.

4 thoughts on “American Music Travesty

  1. My age shows when it comes to my taste in music. I can usually appreciate poppy / catchy songs and at least understand why they are hits. On a rare occasion I can even (gasp) like a current pop song. But to be honest, most popular music these days is just plain crap.

Leave a Reply

