Sunday Eats, a Review

I finally had the chance to eat at the Syrian restaurant in town and it was delicious! I’m not well versed in Middle-Eastern food, but I’ve had some, and thankfully my girlfriend knows all about it and could tell me what was good.

We had falafel, kibbeh, tabbouleh, fatayer, hummus, baba ganoush, and warak inab. There was very little meat but it wasn’t missed. I *love* eggplant and there was plenty of that and I’d heard of falafel but never tried it. I think the falafel was my favorite, along with the baba ganoush (which I’d had before, though at another place.) Everything was so fresh tasting, including the warm pita, mmmm, SO good, and it smelled incredible. I’m mostly a carnivore, but this meal was amazing without featuring meat. They have shwarma, a more meat centered dish, but I’m glad I tried some new things. I can’t wait to go back.

Today was a very lazy Sunday otherwise, with coffee, NFL football and more lounging on the sofa. I’m struggling with NaNo so far, barely getting out a few hundred words a night, but I’m committed to the challenge, and I believe the characters in my head *do* have somewhere they’re going, even if I’m not sure where yet. Hopefully as a month wears on I’ll have more positive things to say about the experience.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Eats, a Review

Leave a Reply

