Remembering

Like many today, I am remembering exactly where I was when I first learned of the horror taking place in NYC and then Our Nation’s Capitol. I am thinking, of course, about the families and loved ones of all those lost, and of those who died in the catastrophe.

I recall being told to go home, that the company I worked for back then was closing for the day. The powers that were had decided it was a time we should all be home with our families rather than in the office trying to sell technology certification training. There may have been co-workers there directly effected by the traumatic events, I don’t remember all the details.

I do remember driving home that morning, a morning very much like the one today. It was a Tuesday and the weather here in Missouri was beautiful, nearly perfect for September. High, cloudless, crystal blue sky, bright sunshine, the kind of light that makes everything you see sharper, more vivid.

I was driving my old Jeep Wrangler and the top was down. There was still a lot of green on the trees and it was as if I could see every leaf, clear as if they were in front of my face instead of whizzing by at forty miles per hour. There wasn’t much traffic that morning. Everyone was either still at work and school or still at home, or already home. It was very quiet and still, and I remember it as just very surreal as I drove, alone, toward my home.

I recall thinking in those moments about what a miracle Life is. The physiological reality of Life, our bodies, how we work, and even, though I am much stronger in my Faith today than I was then, how God had a hand in everything and everyone. I don’t exaggerate when I say I truly felt the enormity of the universe in my head as I made my way south down Lindbergh Boulevard that morning.

I know I’ll never forget the images from that day’s news, nor will I forget the staggering statistics and reports of the thousands who died that day, but I think it’s very important that I, that we all, also remember the strength and bravery of those who gave their lives to possibly save others AND that we think about those same qualities in those who live on, in all of us who have dealt with difficulty and loss.

14 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. It’s amazing how a tragedy can transform those left behind. I’m sorry that your country had to suffer such devastation and that so many people suffered. This was a beautiful post. The description of that day is beautiful yet stark and chilling.

    • Thank you very much, Steph. I write, as I’ve mentioned elsewhere, for myself first BUT it’s always (as you probably know) SO incredibly wonderful to receive thoughtful comments from other writers 🙂

  2. Sean,

    A touching post about that day.

    Someone once said “there’s nothing so bad that good can’t come of it.” You captured this idea so perfectly in your writing here.

    Thank you.

    Tom

  3. When I was younger I was told that there would be a moment that I would remember exactly where I was at the time–like for the previous generation it was when Kennedy was killed–but I never expected it to as searing as 9/11.

  4. Thanks for your post. I too was remembering on sept. 11th, and the overwhelming range of emotions of the day. I can remember the exact moment I heard about it on the radio in the car. I don’t watch re-runs of it on TV anymore – it’s too upsetting.But I do think it’s important to remember the horror of that day, how we felt, and remember those who died, and their families. People are incredible in the face of adversity, and that day proved it without a doubt.

  5. Yes, I don’t think any of us will forget where we were that day. Many heroes were made that day…and you’re right about Life being such a gift. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

