Polite or Offensive?

Funny how the same word or phrase can be interpreted both ways depending on who you’re talking to.

I was taught to respect my elders. This includes, but is certainly not limited to, addressing men as “sir” and women as “ma’am.” Sometimes I do it without even thinking, it’s so ingrained in my manners.

I think you’d be hard pressed to find a man who took any offense at being called “sir,” though I”m sure it happens. People are weird and kooky and just because I don’t have a problem with it doesn’t mean that’s the way it should be for everyone yes it does my opinion is all that matters I’m now testing you to see how closely you’re reading.

This is a dummy. I am empathizing with him right now. I feel both like a dummy and a little sad that I’m so clueless sometimes!

ANYWAY, it’s a much different story when it comes to calling a woman “ma’am.” Apparently, some women take offense at it as it makes them feel old. Older than they are anyway, or older than they look, maybe, is their feeling? Even when spoken out of respect, women apparently don’t like to be reminded of their age, ever, by anyone, especially younger women. Is that an archaic idea? Have things progressed? I think I established in an earlier post that I really have no grasp of the way things are with women these days, further evidenced by the fact I am divorced and single.

All that said, out of the handful of women I personally asked, only one of them said she takes offense at being called “ma’am.” When I asked what she would prefer to be called instead, she had no answer. That’s cheating in my book!

Dear (female) readers, what do you think? Obviously the poll question isn’t really for the dudes who slum around here, what guy is going to make a comment about a woman’s age? Maybe a married one? HA. Sorry married guys, but you know darn well you have less to lose than us single guys. You’re already not getting any, amirite? Sorry again, that took a turn I wasn’t expecting. Damn, I crack myself up.

5 thoughts on “Polite or Offensive?

  1. The world contains a curious creature known as an outrage junkie, or indignation addict. These creatures thrive on the rush of neurotransmitters released when they believe that an offense has been committed against them. If no offense exists, one must be created before withdrawal sets in. Some of these creatures are female, and “ma’am” can be one of their favorite triggers. That’s no reason to stop calling them “ma’am,” since it would be cruel to deprive them of their main pleasure in life.

  2. I’m only 38!! But, thankfully, and blessedly (and yes, I am thankful, and DO feel blessed) I don’t look it yet. When I’m all old and haggard, and raggedy, you can call me Ma’am all you want to. By then when I’m in the home, I will get me some new gorgeous boobs, and I will drive my rascal at breakneck speeds down the hallway of the home with my new boobs out in the wind. And people will stop, slackjawed and stare and be all ” WoW! Look at dem boobs!”, and then gag at sight the rest of me. It’s gonna be pretty much the most awesome thing ever.

Leave a Reply

