The Boys are Back!

noteNo, I’ve not posted here in a long time or really written much of anything in a long time. Life gets in the way of the things we love sometimes, eh?

The Boys I speak of above are, of course, the St. Louis Blues of the NHL. The Blues opened their season with a home game last night against the Nashville Predators with a big win! Words cannot express how excited I am about hockey starting again, and like last year, I’ll be writing about the Blues over at BleedinBlue.com.

BB_FBCover

I’m not the only great writer (see what I did there?) on the BleedinBlue.com staff, so be sure to browse thoroughly, there’s a lot of good stuff there and with a full season (thank the Hockey gods!) there will be even more content this year than last.

I will once again be wagering the success of the Blues against some friends and their respective hometown teams, though it’s more of a “Twitter Friend Bet” this year, as one of them is more or less (semi?) retired from blogging.  I won last year and I think I’ll win again this year. I’m already up a point on the Wild and 2 on the Flyers. Yes, J, SD, I went there, whatcha gonna do about it? ;)

CARDSOne of the beautiful things about October, and one reason Fall is my favorite season, is that in addition to hockey starting up, the MLB playoffs have begun, and it’s always more fun when the Cardinals in involved. They murdered the Pittsburgh Pirates in Game 1 of the NLDS at Busch III last night, 9-1. The Pirates are the media darlings this year, the little engine that finally could, and while it could be a good series, the Birds on the Bat are off to a smashing start. Game 2 is another home game this afternoon. GO CARDS!

Other reasons Fall is the best: Baked Maple Pumpkin lattes from Kaldi’s Coffee in Kirkwood, cooler weather, honeycrisp apples, and Thanksgiving.

Stay tuned to this station for commentary on the Cardinals and Life in General and be sure to check out BleedinBlue.com for Blues news and notes. Thanks!

3 responses to “The Boys are Back!

  1. My husband is so happy that Hockey has started (he is a NY Ranger fan) and although they had a very shitty opener last night (I am still bitter about them firing Torts) I know that it doesn’t matter how they do (not really) he is just happy to have men with sticks on ice to watch.

    as for your Blues we don’t hate them..because you have JD there..and we love him because of how awesome he was in NY.

    Enjoy your hockey and baseball , I know that for Many of you (my husband included) this is a reason to smile all winter long. :)

Leave a Reply

